AGRICULTURAL COMMISSION

The mission of the Agricultural Commission is to preserve, revitalize and sustain the Lancaster agricultural industry and to promote agricultural-based economic opportunities.

The Commission shall develop a work plan to guide its activities. Such activities include, but are not limited to, the following:

- 1 Shall serve as facilitators for encouraging the pursuit of agriculture in Lancaster
- 2 Shall promote agricultural-based economic opportunities in the Town
- 3 Shall act as advocates and educators on farming issues
- 4 Shall work for preservation of prime agricultural lands
- 5 Shall pursue all initiatives appropriate to creating a sustainable agricultural community
- The Agricultural Commission promoted/expanded the Lancaster Farmer's Market in 2013. The Agricultural Commission would like to thank Steve Piazza for his dedication and service to the Lancaster Farmer's Market for the 2013 season.
- Addressed Agricultural concerns that arose throughout the year.
- The Agricultural Commission worked with Lancaster Citizens and facilitated a change to the Lancaster Livestock Bylaw to accommodate chickens. The Agricultural Commission's goal for 2014 is to continue to work on promoting Lancaster Agriculture and the Lancaster Farmer's Market.
- The Agricultural Commission would like to thank Kurt Schuffels for his dedication as a member of the Commission for the past five years; the Lancaster Agricultural Commission would not be where it is today if not for his commitment.

The Agricultural Commission is a five-member appointed board with up to two alternate members. The members that were appointed are:

David Kilbourn, Chair

Peter Jakubowicz, Vice-Chair

Susan Miner, Clerk/Treasurer

Eric Jakubowicz

Maria Moreira

The Agricultural Commission meets on the first Wednesday of each month at 7:00 PM at the Thayer Memorial Library. All citizens are welcome to join the Board for these meetings and public involvement is always encouraged.

Respectfully submitted,
David Kilbourn, Chair
Peter Jakubowicz, Vice-Chair
Susan Miner, Clerk/Treasurer
Eric Jakubowicz
Maria Moreira