AGRICULTURAL COMMISSION

The mission of the Agricultural Commission is to preserve, revitalize and sustain the Lancaster agricultural industry and to promote agricultural-based economic opportunities.

The Commission shall develop a work plan to guide its activities. Such activities include, but are not limited to, the following:

- 1 Shall serve as facilitators for encouraging the pursuit of agriculture in Lancaster
- 2 Shall promote agricultural-based economic opportunities in the Town
- 3 Shall act as advocates and educators on farming issues
- 4 Shall work for preservation of prime agricultural lands
- 5 Shall pursue all initiatives appropriate to creating a sustainable agricultural community
- The Agricultural Commission has continued to develop ways in which to promote our local Agriculture/farms throughout the Town within the scope of the grant which was acquired in 2015. The Agricultural Commission has awarded this grant for scholarships for Nashoba Regional High School district students, the guidelines for these scholarships were developed in 2019, all procedures in place no submission as of December 2021.
- The Agricultural Commission has continued to build awareness in Lancaster of the Lancaster Chicken Bylaw.
- The Agricultural Commission has scanned active Farmers in Town to prepare information for promotion of our Lancaster Farms.
- The Agricultural Commission's goal for 2022 is to continue to work on promoting Lancaster Agriculture, participate and build relationships with other town land preservation commissions and advocate for farming as a way of life in Lancaster.

The Agricultural Commission is a five-member appointed board with up to two alternate members. The members that were appointed are:

Peter Jakubowicz, Chair

Susan Miner, Clerk/Treasurer

Eric Jakubowicz

Maria Moreira

The Agricultural Commission meets on the first Monday of each month at 7:00 PM at the Lancaster Community Center. All citizens are welcome to join the Board for these meetings and public involvement is always encouraged.

Respectfully submitted,
Peter Jakubowicz, Chair
Susan Miner, Clerk/Treasurer
Eric Jakubowicz
Maria Moreira