

NASHOBA Regional School Committee Meeting Agenda March 23, 2022

RECEIVED

By Amie Martin at 9:33 am, Mar 21, 2022

6:30 PM

Remote Meeting via Zoom Technology

The Nashoba Regional School Committee adheres to Open Meeting Law (OML) Regulations, which have been altered. Here is a link to that order: https://malegislature.gov/Laws/SessionLaws/Acts/2021/Chapter20

In response to concerns about the potential for privacy and safety violations embedded in Zoom, the Massachusetts Association of School Committees (MASC) has shared preliminary guidance for conducting meetings and online learning. Recommendations include sending the link only to those participating in the meeting (committee members, superintendent, presenters) and requiring a password. Other recommendations include having the local cable channel livestream or otherwise broadcast the meeting to make it accessible to the public, and either taking public comments off the agenda or asking that comments be emailed to the Chair who can read them at the meeting.

While public comment is not a requirement of the Open Meeting Law, our school committee wants to continue to include it as part of our agenda. Our protocol for Citizens' Comments was recently updated. It is as follows: Any individual interested in speaking to an issue which is on the agenda or within the School Committee's authority during the Public Comment portion of a School Committee meeting held over Zoom shall sign up to speak by emailing nrsc@nrsd.net at least 1 hour before the meeting, with a subject line "PUBLIC COMMENT FOR (DATE) MEETING". The chairperson will respond to the participant with the zoom link prior to the start of the meeting, and copy the Zoom host via email. The Zoom host will then allow the individual to join the meeting during the Public Comment segment of the meeting, which is usually the first 15 minutes. The individual shall display their full name and town of residence on screen when they join the Zoom meeting. Individuals will be called upon to speak in the order in which their requests were received. Each individual's comment shall be in accordance with Policy BEDH After the comment is read, the individual will be asked to leave the Zoom meeting. If the individual does not leave, the Zoom host will remove the participant.

To view the meeting in real time, click this link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ujLEDX7GKXU

I. Call to order of Regular Meeting and Pledge of Allegiance	6:30 PM
II. Citizens' Comments	6:30 PM
III. Consent Agenda Vote a) Meeting Minutes of March 9, 2022 b) Warrants of March 25, 2022	6:40 PM
 IV. New Business a) Superintendent Formative Evaluation b) Superintendent Entry Plan c) Vote to approve new members of School Building Committee (Kristen Kendall, Stow resident with a voting share, and Joe McCarthy, non-voting participant – NRHS Faculty) 	6:45 PM (10 mins.) (60 mins.) (5 mins.)
V. Business and Operations Reporta) E & D Recertification Voteb) January Results of Operation	8:00 PM
VI. Student Representative Report Sonia Nicholson & Dan Aube	8:10 PM
VI. Unfinished Business a) Administrative Salary Range Vote b) Policy Manual Section D (seconding reading) Vote	8:15 PM (5 mins.) (10 mins.)

VIII. Sub Committee/Advisory Reports 8:30 PM Subcommittee Reports (IO) a) Budget and Warrant Report Mr. Rubinstein will report b) Communication Ms. Cohen will report c) NRHS School Building Committee Mr. Gleason will report d) Personnel Report Ms. Vivirito will report e) Policy Report Ms. Devine will report Advisory Committee Reports (IO) a) Audit Advisory Mr. Eckel will report b) Diversity, Equity, Acceptance and Racial Justice Advisory (DEARJ) Ms. Poch will report c) Regional Agreement Amendment Advisory Committee (RAAAC) Dr. McCarthy will report d) Special Education Parent Advisory Council (SEPAC) Mr. Collins will report IX. Items for Next Agenda (AR) 8:40 PM

Postings can be found at: https://www.nrsd.net/school_committee/_agendas __minutes_ and _meeting_materials_

Posted on 3/21/22 at 9:00 am

X. Adjourn

Leah Vivirito (Stow Rep.) – Chairperson Joseph Gleason (Lancaster Rep.) - Secretary

Amy Cohen – Bolton Representative Brett Collins – Lancaster Representative Karen Devine – Stow Representative Rich Eckel – Stow Representative Mike Horesh (Bolton Rep). Vice Chairperson

8:45 PM

Dr. Mary McCarthy – Bolton Representative Shawn Winsor – Lancaster Representative Sharon Poch– Lancaster Representative Stephen Rubinstein – Stow Representative