# **BOARD OF APPEALS**

Calendar year 2007 proved to be a productive year for the Lancaster Board of Appeals. A wide range of activities occurred, ranging from variance and special permit applications to Chapter 40B comprehensive permit applications. The Board of Appeals reviewed several significant applications in 2007, the highlights of which are listed as follows:

# **Comprehensive Permits**

- Richmond Development, Fieldcrest Estates
   Comprehensive Permit for 84 single-family home development, located off of Sterling Road Status: Continued into 2008
- The Board continued to monitor the Blue Heron Pond 40B development, which is currently under construction.

### **Variances**

- Robert Velten and Sandra Bailey, 215 Bolton Road Special Permit for Section 3.22 (B) (Rural uses – keeping of livestock) Withdrawn without prejudice: 1/25/07
- Lancaster Agway, Lunenburg Road
   Variance for Section 7.32 (Freestanding signs)
   Approved: 3/1/07
- Daniel Hinckley, 44 High Street Extension Variance for Section 4.22 (Side and rear yard setback) Approved: 3/22/07
- Gerald and Janet Smith, 8 Spectacle Pond Avenue Variance for Section 4.22 (Side and rear yard setback) *Approved:* 4/26/07
- David and Jennifer Smith, 22 Harvard Road
   Variance for Section 4.22 (Side and rear yard setback)
   Withdrawn without prejudice: 6/14/07
- David Murphy, 36 Vincent Avenue Variance for Section 4.22 (Side and rear yard setback) Withdrawn without prejudice: 7/26/07
- Massachusetts Youth Soccer Association, 512 Old Union Turnpike

Variance for Section 7.33 (Attached signs)

*Approved:* 7/26/07

• Robert Cirillo, 73 Sawyer Street

Variance for Section 7.13 (Setbacks and corner clearance)

*Approved:* 9/27/07

• L.L. Prince Real Estate Trust, 851 Sterling Road

Variance for Section 4.22 (Side and rear yard setback)

*Approved:* 10/25/07

#### **Special Permits**

• Bell Atlantic Mobile d/b/a Verizon Wireless

Special Permit for Section 15.40 (Personal wireless service facility)

Approved: 3/1/07

• Douglas Deschenes, Mill Street Site (former Agway)

Special Permit for Section 8.11 (Non-conforming buildings – continuance, alteration, extension), Section 8.12 (Non-conforming buildings – reconstruction), and Section 8.22

(Non-conforming uses – change in use)

*Approved:* 3/22/07

• Erin McCurley, 75 Shirley Road

 $Special\ Permit\ for\ Section\ 8.11\ (Non-conforming\ buildings-continuance,\ alteration,$ 

extension)

*Approved:* 9/27/07

### **Appeals**

• Francis Smith, 210 Deershorn Road

Appeal of Building Department Decision

Denied: 4/26/07

• Clinton Fish & Game Properties Association, South Meadow Road Site

Appeal of Building Department Decision

Denied: 9/27/07

## **Bylaw Codification**

The Board of Appeals participated in the bylaw codification project this year, which seeks to merge and update the various general and zoning bylaws and regulations into a single document that the Town can call its *Code of the Town of Lancaster*. The code will be ready for approval at the Annual Town Meeting to be held in May 2008.

#### **Other Business**

Francis Sullivan was appointed as an Alternate Member of the Board, filling the seat formerly held by Alternate Member, Tim Smith. We thank Tim for his terrific work and service to the Board and Town.

In early 2007, the Board re-organized and re-elected Scott Miller as Chair, Jeanne Rich as Vice-Chair, and Tim Smith as Clerk.

The Lancaster Board of Appeals is an eight-member appointed board whose charge is to ensure compliance with a wide array of land use and zoning regulations in Lancaster. The Board of Appeals meets on the fourth Thursday of each month at 7:00 PM in the Town Hall Auditorium. All citizens are welcome to join the Board for these meetings and public involvement is always encouraged.

The Community Development and Planning office coordinates all meeting schedules and is open Monday through Thursday, 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM. As always, this office welcomes citizen's questions, comments or suggestions. Please feel free to contact us at 978-368-4007, npiazza@lancasterma.net or lmichalak@lancasterma.net.

Respectfully submitted,

Scott Miller, Chair
Jeanne Rich, Vice-Chair
Eugene Christoph
David Stadtherr
Sarah Gulliver
Robert Marshall, Alternate Member
John Parsons, Alternate Member
Francis Smith, Alternate Member, Clerk