BOARD OF APPEALS

Calendar year 2016 proved to be a moderate year for the Lancaster Board of Appeals. A wide range of activities occurred, ranging from variances and special permit applications to Chapter 40B comprehensive permit matters. The Board of Appeals reviewed several significant applications in 2016, the highlights of which are listed as follows:

Comprehensive Permits

- Tyrone Jones, Jones Crossing Development Acceptance of Phase Schedule Approved: 3/24/16
- CHAPA, Lancaster Woods Development First right of refusal on 62 Woods Lane Voted Not to Purchase: 3/24/16
- Tyrone Jones, Jones Crossing Development
 Amendment to Comprehensive Permit for conversion from a 40B project to a Local Initiative Program (LIP) project
 Approved as a Minor Change: 6/23/16
- CHAPA, Blue Heron Pond Development
 First right of refusal on 709 Blue Heron Drive
 Voted Not to Purchase: 6/23/16

Variances / Special Permits / Other Zoning Relief

- William Kearney and Heidi Lundblad, 61 Old Union Turnpike Special Permit pursuant to Section 220-8.2 (B) (Keeping of livestock) *Approved:* 2/25/16
- Brendan Laughlin, 86 Chace Hill Road Special Permit pursuant to Section 220-8.6 (C) (Storage and distribution of goods, supplies, equipment and machinery)
 Withdrawn without prejudice: 3/24/16
- Ted and Denise Fremeau, 149 Sterling Road Special permit pursuant to Section 220-9 (G) (Accessory apartments) Approved: 3/24/16
- Louis Algieri, 22 Chace Hill Road Variance pursuant to Section 220-11 (B) (Side and rear yard setback) Approved: 5/26/16

• Mark Erian, 20 Carleton Place

Variance pursuant to Section 220-9 (G) (Accessory apartments)

Approved: 6/23/16

• Steve Corcoran, 168 Mill Street Extension

Special Permit pursuant to Section 220-9 (G) (Accessory apartment)

Approved: 6/23/16

• Massachusetts Youth Soccer Association, 512 Old Union Turnpike

Special Permit pursuant to Section 220-13 (C) (Modification, Fences and walls)

Approved: 6/23/16

Hometown Bank, 131 Main Street

Special Permit pursuant to Section 220-28 (Permitted forms of illumination) and Section

220-31 (Size, location and illumination exceptions)

Approved: 7/28/16

• Maurizio Varano, 98 Prescott Street

Special Permit pursuant to Section 220-51 (Non-conforming buildings)

Variance pursuant to Section 220-22 (B) (4) (Yard dimensions; side and rear yard setback)

and Section 220-12 (A) (Building dimensions; building or structure height)

Approved: 8/25/16

• Raymond Boutotte, 73 Carter Street

Variance pursuant to Section 220-22 (B) (4) (Yard Dimensions; side and rear yard setback)

Approved: 10/27/16

• McGovern Boulevard Lots Phase II, LLC, 1474 Lunenburg Road

Special Permit pursuant to Section 220-31 (Size, location and illumination exceptions)

Approved: 10/27/16

Appeals

None submitted.

Other Business

In February 2016, the Board re-organized and re-elected Scott Miller as Chair, re-elected Jeanne Rich as Vice-Chair and elected Matthew Mayo as Clerk.

The Board also welcomed Hannah Meyer as a new alternate member replacing Mark Eaton. The Board would like to thank Mark for his service to the Board and to the Town.

The Lancaster Board of Appeals is an eight-member appointed board whose charge is to ensure compliance with a wide array of land use and zoning regulations in Lancaster. The Board of Appeals meets on the fourth Thursday of each month at 7:00 PM in the Lancaster Community

Center. All citizens are welcome to join the Board for these meetings and public involvement is always encouraged.

The Community Development and Planning office coordinates all meeting schedules and is open Monday through Thursday, 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM. As always, this office welcomes citizen's questions, comments or suggestions. Please feel free to contact us at 978-365-3326 x1311, npiazza@lancasterma.net or hhampson@lancasterma.net. The Board acknowledges the professionalism and support offered by the Community Development and Planning office in completing this year's work.

Respectfully submitted,

Scott Miller, Chair
Jeanne Rich, Vice-Chair
Matthew Mayo, Clerk, Alternate Member
David Stadtherr
Sarah Gulliver
Francis Sullivan
Robert Baylis, Alternate Member
Hannah Meyer, Alternate Member